Things to do with a large box, 2

What: Making a cave with a large box and spare LED light strings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Is it a transmogrifier? Is it an electrocution device?? Is it a four-legged robot??? No… it’s a small, contained cave-like playspace with its two builders.

How: I had two Kid 6s come visit me, and I got them to help me make this. I found a string of Christmas lights that weren’t in use – really, any string of LED lights will do but I know many people have Christmas ones around. (The LED bit is important because it’s very low heat, so you don’t have to worry about fire risk when the lights get left on and forgotten.) We cut one end off the box to make an entry way (the end was coming off anyway after enthusiastic use earlier in the week, see previous post). I flipped it over and used scissors to make holes in the base at about the right distance apart to match the Christmas lights. With a little bit of preparation, the Kid 6s probably could have done this, or at least marked the spots for me to make the holes if I didn’t trust them to stab boxes with scissors. However, they arrived as I was beginning, so… they got the job of pushing the lights into the holes. It worked best if I made slightly keyhole-shaped holes, so that the lights would push through but not fall in once through. I did have to specify that they needed to take the next light in the string and not just any light. Once all the lights were in, we plugged it in and switched it on. Instant cool cave! Popular with all the Kid 6s, Kid 4 and the cats.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
View from inside. I had a string of red lights to hand. I have a string of multi-coloured somewhere but I don’t know where.

Extras: Planning the placement of lights for patterns or colours or designs, letting the (older) kids take more of a lead on it and do more of the work. I’d actually like to make a large pegboard-type thing that you could wind a string of lights around to make a picture and then put it up on a big wall, but that’s a ways off coming into existence. My dream house has stuff like this in some of the ceilings. Maybe when the kids are teenagers I can convince them that installing Gyprock sheets is an important life skill.

Leave a Reply

